Pl Engl Fr Es        



A Thought on Reigi Saho

The significance of Aikido, first of all, is that it is a martial art, but it also has meaning as the manifestation of natural laws and as a psychological, sociological, physiological, ethical, and religious phenomenon. All of these are overlapping, although each has its own unique identity, and together they constitute what we call Aikido.

While sports do not deal directly with life-or-death situations, they nevertheless advocate certain values necessary for building of character, for example, the observance of rules, respect for others, sportsmanship, proper dress and manners. This should be even more true and essential in the art of Aikido because Aikido deals with the question of life or death and insists on the preservation of life. In such an art is it not unquestionably appropriate to emphasize the need of dignified Rei in human interactions? Therefore, it is said that Rei is the origin and final goal of budo.

Some people may react negatively to this emphasis on etiquette as old-fashioned, conservative, and even feudalistic in some societies, and this is quite understandable. But we must never lose sight of the essence of Rei. Students of Aikido are especially required to appreciate the reason for and the meaning of Reigi-saho, for it becomes an important step towards misogi , which is at the heart of Aikido practice.

M.Kanai sensei



La Forge Aikido Dojo

Pl Engl Fr        



Les réflexions sur Reigi Saho

L’aïkido est tout d’abord un art martial, mais aussi, la manifestation des lois de la Nature et des phénomènes psychologiques, sociologiques, physiologiques, éthiques, et religieux. Tous ces aspects s’empilent les uns sur les autres tout en ayant chacun son identité propre et unique, et tous ensemble ils constituent ce qu’on appelle Aïkido.

Même si les sports ne s’occupent pas en général de situations de la vie et de la mort, ils entretiennent quand même certains valeurs nécessaires au développement du caractère, par exemple, l’observation de principes, le respect des autres, le comportement honnête, un habillement approprié et des manières correctes. Cela doit être encore plus vrai et essentiel dans l’art de l’aïkido, car l’aïkido traite des questions de la vie et de la mort et insiste sur la préservation de la vie. Dans un tel art il est certainement approprié de mettre l’emphase sur le besoin de dignité, Rei, dans les interactions humaines. C’est pour cette raison qu’il est dit que le Rei est l’origine et le but final du Budo.

Certaines personnes peuvent réagir négativement sur cette attention particulière à l’étiquette, jugeant cela façonné à l’ancienne, conservateur, et c’est compréhensible. Mais on ne doit jamais perdre la signification de l’essence du Rei. Les étudiants de l’aïkido, sont particulièrement obligés d’apprécier les raisons et la signification du Reigi-saho, car cela devient un pas important vers le Misogi, qui est dans le cœur de la pratique de l’aïkido.

M.Kanai sensei



La Forge Aikido Dojo